Posted by: shariglass | June 16, 2011

The Journey Ends and Begins again

I suppose some would say it’s not an ending nor a beginning, but a continuation. Maybe the best way to look at it would be like a book   We’ve finished one chapter and the next chapter is beginning.   However you want to look at it, 2 years, 2 months and 2 weeks ago we drove into Florida on April 1, 2009 and stopped at our friends’, the Dauns’, house near Orlando on our trek to Naples.  We had 1 dog, 2.5 kids, 3 cats, 2 cars, and 5 relo-cubes of stuff (in storage).

Yesterday, on June 15, 2 years, 2 months and 2 weeks later, I again arrived, in transit once again, on the Dauns’ front porch.  Now our final destination is Mountain View, CA.  We have 1 dog, 1 car, the equivalent of 1 (plus 1 ft linear space) relocube of stuff (in storage), & 3 kids.  I’m on my own, in the adult category, since Brian’s been working in CA for the last 4 months

This time is a whole lot different.  It has been a life changing 2 years in many ways.  Make that closer to 3 years from the beginning of this particular journey.   When we drove into FL we didn’t intend to stay, but I’m not sure we would have guessed God would take us somewhere new so quickly (although for the last 9 months we’ve certainly prayed He would!)  He continues to believe one of our greatest lessons we need to learn is patience and relying on Him.  As we wait for the delayed closing on our House in FL.  As we waited for someone to buy our house… As we waited to find a 3 bedroom apartment in or near Mountain View. when all of a sudden there were no vacancies… And now as we wait to get into our new apartment.  But at least that one has a definite time period on it…July 20.  1 month and 5 days.

So, for then next 35 or so days, kids and I and dog will be traveling, visiting, and sight-seeing.  This next chapter is bound to be exciting!

Responses

  1. Hi Shari- we’ve never met face-to-face, but I feel like I know you! Brian used to drive to our home in Grass Lake, Michigan to pick up milk and eggs. I am living vicariously through your blog posts, so please keep the stories, sights, sounds and emotions coming! You see I am living the decidedly monotonous life of a Realtor in Michigan. My job has changed dramatically in the last 5 years. I work many more hours than I used to and I make far less money. My life encompasses 36 square miles of Grass Lake and the immediate surrounding areas. I don’t remember the last time I left Jackson county, let alone the state of Michigan! I am grateful for your stories!

  2. Hi Heather, I do remember Brian going up to Grass Lake. I will attempt to keep our blog updated with our adventures as long as I have internet connection! I’m glad you enjoy reading about them :) I can not imagine being a realtor in MI right now. We still have our house there that we would LOVE to get rid of…feels sort of like a noose around our necks…but what once had $70,000 in equity would now likely be at least that much short. We never thought we’d end up in CA, but then again we never thought we’d live in FL either. Life sure is full of twists and turns!

  3. Oh, if only I could take a month off and travel with you! Okay, maybe a week with 3 kids and a car sick dog:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

