Posted by: shariglass | February 28, 2010

A Homeschooling Family’s Escapades

So now that we hope our life will stay semi-settled for a while, we’re going to use this blog for our family escapades, which can mostly fall into the category of homeschooling.  That’s one of the cool things about homeschooling….you can make just about everything you do some sort of educational experience.

Just for the record, during this “official” school year, Micah is in Grade 5 and Hannah is in Grade 2.  Sarah is in (just arriving at) the into everything within my reach Grade (and she’s not even mobile yet…)  We are following a Classical approach using much of what is outlined in the Well-Trained Mind by Susan Wise Bauer and Jessie Wise (I’ll blog about that more someday when I have more time…).

Responses

  1. Hi Shari and Brian-
    Shari, you and I never met, but Brian used to drive to my house in Grass Lake to pick up eggs and a white liquid substance which shall remian un-named in public.
    I am a Realtor in Ann Arbor, MI and we need every penny I make, but I am sadly disappointed in our public school. I have been “after-schooling” our two older children (Madigan is 8, Liam is 11) using The Well-Trained Mind as a guide. It’s not nearly as regimented as I would like, because our after-school time is limited by home many houses I’m showing that afternoon or by violin lessons or soccer. When we do buckle down though, I feel our children’s excitement over the information. I have NEVER had them balk when I told them it was time to pull out our homeschooling work. God bless Susan Wise Bauer and Jessie Wise!


Leave a Reply

Categories

