Posted by: Brian Glass | April 20, 2010

Lives of the Saints

Saint Eustratius healing a possessed man

Saint Eustratius healing a possessed man

For I say unto you, Among those that are born of women there is not a greater prophet than John the Baptist: but he that is least in the kingdom of God is greater than he. – Luke 7:28

Christ is the dividing line of history, a singularity. The singularity. Of all the prophets who came before, John was greatest. And yet greater things are to come.

The Bible is replete with stories of miraculous healings, resurrections, and numerous other miracles told of the patriarchs, prophets, and apostles. Elijah raised the dead as did Peter, Paul, and other apostles. Even the bones of Elisha raised the dead (2 Kings 13:21).

Christ himself said that the greatest of what had come before was the very least of what was to come. Through most of my life I was simply unaware of the stories of the saints through the last 2000 years. In searching for my patron saint (who is St. Athanasius), I read many stories of saints who performed miracles, even of resurrection from the dead.

At first it struck me as startlingly odd that there were so many stories of people being healed simply by touching the bones or other relics of a “dead” saint. And then I came across the story of a man being resurrected by touching the bones of Elisha in 2 Kings 13:21. At this point I realized that what I was reading about was what I should have expected, not something to be frightened of or disbelieve. In fact, I realized, what I should have been disturbed about before was not finding these stories.

To this day there continue to be stories of miracles in the Orthodox Church. I would be disturbed if there were not.

Leave a Reply

Categories

