Posted by: Brian Glass | May 15, 2010

Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi

Latiana Christiana recommends doing recitation of the forms and elements of language that we have learned on a daily basis. As a new teacher I didn’t really place much emphasis on this as I thought it was overkill. We just did the recitation once per week during the video lesson. Then one day I asked Micah what a verb was and he simply couldn’t answer. This is something I had covered over and over as had Shari in his English grammar class.

What I am finding with this class is that repetition is not just important. It is vital. Without repetition the entire foundation we have built begins to crumble. The only reason we are good at walking is because we do it over and over again. Likewise, daily recitation is fundamental to the success of our Latin class. Without it our memory fades.

My memory failed me just the other day as I was trying to recall just one of the sermons a pastor from my previous life had preached. Try as I might I could remember only one. After seven years of attending that church I could remember only one sermon. Do you know why I remembered that one sermon? I remembered it because he preached it twice.

The repetition in the Orthodox Divine Liturgy first struck me as being restrictive. I couldn’t imagine attending a church where the majority of what happened was the same from week to week. I felt the same way about prayers that came out of a book.

But faith is like language. It does you absolutely no good unless it becomes part of the very core of your being. The best way I know to make something seep into the core of my being is by repetition. One year of liturgy has changed me more than seven years of sermons. It took me a while to realize it, but prayer and liturgy are one and the same. Liturgy is nothing less than corporate prayer.

Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi – The law of praying is the law of believing.

I become what I pray.

Leave a Reply

Categories

